Direct Sales

 

 

cutco

My dad, being a salesman, taught me you can sell anybody anything if you’ve got the ability to believe. ~Marilyn Manson

Over the years, I have sat through many a Cutco presentation by some very earnest young men. All have been guys from our church, so I always say yes when they call me. My thought is that if this young person has the gumption to make a cold call, and has the moxie to make a presentation to me, well then, I’m going to buy something from him. Cutco does offer good products, and I’ve always been pleased with my purchases.

The hard part is listening to the spiel over and over, but one must let them practice to prepare for presentations to others who haven’t heard it yet.

Going back in time, I am remembering a cookware presentation done in one of the “Dating Parlors” at Randolph-Macon Woman’s College, back in the spring of my senior year, when I had visions of marrying a special young man (to whom I am now married). The product was called Thermo-Core, and was described as “Thermium Multi-plex Stainless Steel”. Made in USA.

pots2

The salesman enticed me with promises of lifetime guarantees for this superior product. The package included a covered skillet, a Dutch oven, three covered sauce pans plus an insert to make a double boiler, AND another insert that went into the Dutch oven that would warm baby bottles! (of course, this was before the days of microwave ovens, which eventually made the baby bottle insert obsolete). But in case you didn’t need that baby bottle feature, there were little cups you could stick in the holes if you wanted to poach eggs like my mom used to do. He also demonstrated how one could stack sauce pans with that double boiler insert to keep things warm and save energy (pretty forward thinking in 1977!).

It all sounded good to me. But I had no money. Of course, they offered a payout plan, which I can’t believe I agreed to. My thought was that I’d get a job and pay for it later. I can’t remember, but I think the whole shebang cost several hundred dollars.

I didn’t ask my mother for guidance, mostly because it would have involved a long distance call, which involved money which I didn’t have, or a letter, to which I wouldn’t have a reply for maybe a week.

Speaking of my mom, I hate to admit it, but her cookware was pretty flimsy back then, and that was one of the reasons I made the executive decision to buy this “superior” product.

Fast forward 37 years. I am still using all of the pieces I purchased and paid out way back then. Well, except that I don’t much use the baby bottle insert, nor the egg poaching accessories!

pots

Yes, I know there are many new and amazing cookware products out there, and some are in my cupboard next to my Thermo-Core pieces. But I still go to those old saucepans and the skillet first. They are old friends, and way more than good enough for me. And they go in the dishwasher (bonus points!).

So you might think twice when someone calls you or invites you to consider a product. There’s a good chance you will be very pleased with your purchase! Here’s to all those who have ever been in direct sales, pitching cutlery, cookware, skin care products or costume jewelry, etc. You all have earned my admiration.

8 Responses

  1. Mom has a stainless steel set that she purchased 40 yrs ago , she uses them every day and they still look every good unfortunately she dropped one the other day and a handle broke . Does anyone know where I can purchase replacement parts for this cook ware ? Their from 1975 thermo core

  2. I had that same presentation at VCU back in the early ’70’s. And like you I still use my set and they are my favorite pans. They clean up beautifully, and they don’t look like I have had them for some 40+ years!

    • My story is the exact same and I purchased the set in 1968 as a student with no money but prospect of job on graduation.It has been a great set, looks good as new but I need new handles. I have looked everywhere with no luck. Has anyone been able to find replacement parts?? I remember when the company went out of business as I used to buy handles from them. Please post if anyone has had luck with this. Anyone want to sell their handles? grammiemccart@gmail.com

  3. My story is the same except I was at the University of Maine Orono in 1974! Still use them daily and they look great! My Mom had purchased the same back in the late 50’s. She has passed but my dad still uses them!
    Peggy

  4. I purchased my set in 1977 and still use them today. I received a set of knives along with them. I still use the knives too. The handles on mine come lose and I just tighten them.

  5. The same pot that I bought back way in a day and my handles broke off

  6. Is the company still around for us to get a replacement

  7. Exactly the same story for me! University of South Dakota in 1976 and still using my set. They are the best! If anyone finds a site for replacement handles pass it on to us please!

Leave a Reply

